Are we parents yet?

The Clements’ IVF Journey

Moving! June 28, 2009

Filed under: Happiness!,Off topic — Aria @ 2:23 pm

The papers are signed for us to move! We’re moving from a one-bedroom shoebox with one bathroom and a shared garage to a place with three bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a private garage, much more space. Both have certain amenities, such as in-unit washers and dryers, and dishwashers. So those can’t be compared. We’ll be giving up a fireplace, and it’ll be odd to me to not have one, but we can put a chiminea on the private patio and enjoy roasted marshmallows in winter that way.

And the difference in rent…both of these screen caps were taken a few minutes ago. Both are “luxury” units (if the place we’re in now can really qualify in more than just name…). This is just the cost of living difference between Silicon Valley and other areas. People in and around Santa Barbara think it’s so expensive living there? Nu-uh. Look:

Current unit:

New unit:

This means we’ll get to have a nursery and I’ll get to have a dedicated sewing room again! Right now all my sewing stuff is crammed into the “dining area” in the current unit. It was a trial training the dogs NOT to go there, and then a ton of vacuuming to keep fur away from everything. Now I’ll have a sewing room again! And we can get our nursery stuff set up. That makes me just so happy.

We’ll also be nearer to family, and NO MORE 100-DEGREE HEAT!!

Of course this will mean it’s tricky getting to my high school reunion. Well, I’m no good for moving anything anyway, so maybe I’ll go down on the 5th, sign the new lease on the 6th (only I have to sign), and while Cody & Co. get everything packed into the huge truck (how on earth was a 17-foot truck too small to move everything from our place prior to here to here?!) and driven down and unloaded, I can fly up to Portland. My best friend from high school has said I could stay with her, and there’s no way I want to miss getting to see her and actually go to the reunion unless I have to. Thanks to Facebook, I’ve been back in contact with old classmates, and it’s been wonderful seeing the people who were mean, teasing jerks who’ve turned into nice people, and even issues unsolicited apologies. High school may not have been happy times all around, but the positive changed in those less-than-nice classmates has been warming.

So I dodge the work for the weekend by going to Oregon? I think so. 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Moving!”

  1. xyneshia Says:

    I am sooooo incredibly glad that you finally found a family style/sized apartment. Cannot wait to see you!

  2. jewelssparkles Says:

    Yay! Congrats!

    Off topic, your apartment is almost double the size of our *house*! No fair! 😛

  3. xyneshia Says:

    I cannot believe how much the rent costs! that is insane! I have a 3 bedroom on snob hill for $975.

  4. Aria Says:

    I think it would take something major for me to not be there in August. I’ve been looking forward to it insanely for so long now!!

    Rents are nuts here. Yet $15 is a pretty good amount to make hourly. Sad, isn’t it? The median household total income here is 60% higher than the national average, yet our housing costs are close to 300% higher than average. This section on the Wiki is actually very accurate. The transit IN the city is very good during certain hours. Otherwise, you get the problem we had without a car – sparse buses, no service after 6:30, and nothing at all on Sundays, meaning a car is necessary for most things, with $6 or more per hour to park anywhere. There shouldn’t be so many people living in relative poverty here while working multiple jobs, but there are many due to the cost of rents. Cody and I are among the few who don’t have either of us working multiple jobs or roommates. That I can actually be a stay-at-home mom is practically unheard of among households not making six figures. We’re comparatively well off, yet are far from rich. It’s sad. The American Dream shouldn’t be to just make it paycheck to paycheck.

    Julia, we’ll trade you for your house, if it has a yard. 🙂

  5. jewelssparkles Says:

    Oh we have a massive yard (really, it’s HUGE), we’re just not allowed to do *anything* with it other than mow it… stupid meanypants landlord (& yes I am feeling silly & immature right now :P).

  6. christinaohio Says:

    OMG! I cn’t imagine a house pyment that high let alone rent. YIKES! Here in this area you can still buy a 3 bedroom house on a 1/2 acre lot for $100,000 or less of course we don’t have the same weather you folks have. Glad you are getting a bigger place before the baby comes. May you be very happy there. 🙂


Leave a Reply

