Are we parents yet?

The Clements’ IVF Journey

Sharp pain March 30, 2009

Filed under: Fears and worries — Aria @ 11:00 pm

In the center, right above my pubic bone, and then it feels like it shoots straight back. In the kitchen I was double over, couldn’t stand. I don’t know if this is normal or not. But if it happens again, I’m going to go to the ER. If it doesn’t happen again, I’ll still be calling the doctor tomorrow.

I’ll feel a lot better if someone can tell me this is normal and that it happened to them and things were okay in the end.

 

3 Responses to “Sharp pain”

  1. jewelssparkles Says:

    Definitely call the doctor. I’ve found a couple of sites that might help until then though:

    http://www.babycenter.com/0_abdominal-pain-during-pregnancy_204.bc?page=1
    http://www.marchofdimes.com/pnhec/159_15241.asp

    If it’s right above the pubic bone, it seems to be fairly normal with the most common causes seeming to be ligaments stretching, implantation & UTIs, the things to worry about seem to be pain on one side & pain with spotting. That said, I am not a doctor, that’s just what I’ve found. Hope that helps a bit 🙂

  2. emkj3606 Says:

    It’s probably normal. In the early weeks of all my pregnancies, I’ve had weird and horrible uterine/pelvic pain. Things are stretching out like crazy and you’ve now got Relaxin in your system so your joints are also pulling apart a little.

    It sounds like it could be round ligament pain–completely normal but can hurt like a mofo.

    My first time through, even before I knew I was pregnant, I thought I might be getting arthritis my hips and pelvis hurt so badly. Both my first time, the one we lost, and this time sometimes I’ll move the wrong way or do something oh-so-strenuous (like walking across the room) and it would feel like someone was stabbing me in the pubic bone and/or lower abdomen. That was the RLP. It sucks, but is normal and 2 of the 3 pregnancies have ended up well (well, one is *almost* over, but seeing as I’m almost 38 weeks I’ll count it as turning out fine ;)).

    Call your doctor if it would ease your mind, but I’m betting everything’s fine. 🙂

  3. thereisafountain Says:

    Hope everything’s okay! Post again when you know what’s up – I’m hoping it’s normal!

    Hey, what happened to your LJ? I normally just read your posts on my friends list, and noticed I hadn’t seen a post from you in a while! I’m glad I knew where this blog was so I could get all the updates!

    Happy growing-non-pain-causing-baby thoughts sent your way!

    -Julia


Leave a Reply

