Are we parents yet?

The Clements’ IVF Journey

Was it a fluke test? March 22, 2009

Filed under: Testing — Aria @ 10:26 am

(Let me note: there is no HCG from the very-low-dose trigger I had left in my system. Not only is it usually out of the system within a week, but also I had negative tests a few days ago, meaning no HCG form that left in my system.)

Of course me being me, I had to test to make sure the first one wasn’t a fluke. I took the picture last night not even ten minutes after taking it, and posted about 15 minutes later. So it seems like it should be right. So midnight last night I tested again. And this is what it looked like eight minutes (I timed it) after dropping pee on it:

But…but what if that one was a fluke too? So this morning, on 11DPO, I decided to test yet again, and so peed in my pee-catcher. Ugh, I didn’t have any more tests, so had to make a run to get more, and was impatient during a couple other errands (cat food and lettuce – my favorite food in the entire world is salad, and I’ll eat half a head of head lettuce or an entire head of romaine and call that one salad – maybe all the salad is why I’m so thin now because I eat like a horse). But I made it home. And grabbed my pee catcher cup and one of the four tests I bought and then stood there with the camera and waited for five minutes, worried the entire time that the second line wouldn’t show up. The window turned pink, then the control line began to show, then:

No, I’m not going to declare it yet. I want to hear it from the doctor first, and I know that just being pregnant doesn’t mean staying pregnant. I had four positives my first IVF cycle, on days 13 and 14, and ended up losing them. The second cycle there was nothing. Nothing at all. Nada. No amount of light or angle of viewing could make a line show up. But I also had more drugs in my system those two times. This FET cycle was a natural cycle, just following my body’s natural cycle. Even though the success rate is lower with FET cycles (cells do die off in freezing and thawing…), we had a better feeling about it this time, perhaps because there weren’t all the drugs in my system for my body to have to work on cleaning out while trying to be a hospitable environment to embies.

And this time around I also kept my ass firmly planted on the couch, not even doing domestic stuff, like cleaning or doing more cooking than the chicken for my chicken Caesar salads, just trying to let them rest where they are instead of being jarred around as I run around, and to keep my heart rate low so that my body’s energy can go to them. I think the most active thing I’ve done this week is go to the dog park and lay on a picnic table while the girls ran around and played. This hasn’t been easy since I like to be active. And try as he might, Cody just can’t get the kitchen cleaned to my uptight standard. It’s guy-clean here right now rather than Aria-clean.

No amount of ill-wishing is going to be what changes the results. I don’t care if someone tries saying these are ‘shopped (as a few commenters have said – I approve all comments except spam because the only one who will look bad is the one leaving comments). I don’t care that a few of you commenters are hoping I miscarry, and commenting as such. The only ones who are hurt by your hate are yourselves. I’m sorry for you not having much in your lives to bring you happiness that you can only find enjoyment in trying to tear me and my life down. If you’re so “tired” of reading about this, then why go out of your way to come to this blog? Go outside and play, go hang out with real friends, get lives of your own, and leave mine alone. Your level of immaturity is astounding.

 

7 Responses to “Was it a fluke test?”

  1. Kristen Says:

    you’ve been doing IVF for how long, yet you still haven’t figured out that the IVF trigger will cause a positive pregnancy test? sigh. I don’t think it’s right to wish a miscarriage on anyone, but I don’t want to wish a child on you, either.

  2. Aria Says:

    Kristen, this wasn’t an IVF cycle. It was a frozen embryo transfer. Since we had nine embryos left over, rather than do another cycle of all the drugs and a retrieval and the whole nine yards, we transferred two of them back into me. If you actually read this post, you’d have read this:

    This FET cycle was a natural cycle, just following my body’s natural cycle. Even though the success rate is lower with FET cycles (cells do die off in freezing and thawing…), we had a better feeling about it this time, perhaps because there weren’t all the drugs in my system for my body to have to work on cleaning out while trying to be a hospitable environment to embies.

    It’s at the end of the third-to-last paragraph.

  3. Kristen Says:

    yeah, I’m not scrolling that far down. Without being 100% asshole, since I’m in a lazy Sunday mood, it wouldn’t have taken eight minutes to find out you’re knocked up anyway.

  4. Aria Says:

    Well, maybe you should read before talking and maing yourself look ignorant and stupid.

    You don’t have a high enough HCG level running through you regularly to trip even a very sensitive test, you know. Or maybe you don’t know.

    I’m not declaring anything to be official until the blood test.

  5. pinnythewu Says:

    Jesus! what the hell is wrong with people. The woman just wants a child, what the hell is wrong with that!? I am lucky and blessed to have a child and I wouldn’t dare wish infertility on anyone, especially someone willing to put themselves through such a mentally and emotionally challenging ordeal to have a child. A person like this will love their child and appreciate their child more that anyone else could possibly comprehend.
    People like you, Kristen, disgust me.

  6. Aria Says:

    Thank you!

    The worst of the comments are screened. What Kristen said is very mild compared to the comments wishing death upon me because we are not adopting (said by someone who hasn’t adopted either).

  7. People can be real PITA’s online when they can hide behind a keyboard. I was never able to have any kids because of health problems going the route you have has been out of the question.So I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that this works out for the two of you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

