Are we parents yet?

The Clements’ IVF Journey

Today’s appointment, endo, and a MAJOR WTF (no, not pregnant) October 30, 2008

Filed under: Confusions,The process — Aria @ 7:24 pm

Let me preface this by saying we are NOT pregnant.  That would be the only news more shocking than what happened.

When I was 24 my left ovary was removed when the hole in my small intestine was fixed.  This is crucial to know.

The RE did a vaginal ultrasound initially to check the follicles on my right ovary and the condition of my uterus.  Both are extremely good, and there were FIVE mature follicles on the right, plus a few that weren’t.  A couple tiny spots of endometreosis, which doesn’t surprise me in the least…but she found a second ovary, plain as day.  I saw it.  It was there, with eight mature follicles (plus two that weren’t).

While it’s definitely better having two ovaries when harvesting eggs, why the hell are there two?  How?  One was removed…or was it?

At this point I have no idea what the hell is going on.  Part of me if relieved and part of me feels nauseated and upset because I now have no idea what the hell was removed from my body, if anything.  Years of believing I had one, gynos not bothering to check an ovary I thought wasn’t there, stress over whether there’d be enough eggs from one ovary to make good embryos…and yet, right there on the screen, it was.  I saw it.  Cody saw it.  The RE saw it, two others saw it.  It was there, and with more mature follicles than the right.

I’m going to call the hospital where the surgery was done and arrange to see my records, Mom in tow.  I already called her, and she said yes, the doctor said the left ovary was removed.

I am upset over not knowing what’s up with my own body, combined with thrilled that it looks like I have a left ovary after all.

Also Stanford verified for us that our insurance coverage covers ALL of their services, so if United tries to deny anything, they’re going to have to deal with Stanford and answer to why they’re refusing to cover.

 

Leave a Reply

